Northern Mountains


The north eastern mountains are the highest mountains of the world referred to as Himalayas. The part of this mountain which is  under  Pakistan area  consists  of  four parallel ranges (i) Siwalks range, (ii) Pir Panjal range, (iii) the central Himalayas, (iv) Karakoram range. North western mountains are also known as western branches of the Himalayas. These mountains consists of several parallel ranges and are lower in altitudes than the eastern mountains. These mountain ranges lie north to south and these have the following divisions (i) The Hindu Kush, (ii) Koh Safaid, (iii) Waziristan hills, (iv) Sulaiman mountains. In the west of lower Indus occupies a hilly area called as Kirthar hills.